Sunday, July 6, 2008

Mens US Olympic Team

Text taken from

In the discipline of road cycling, a total of five men were nominated to the Olympic Team, while one automatic nomination to the women’s squad was announced.
On the men’s side, only one athlete earned an automatic nomination, while USA Cycling made four discretionary picks.
Levi Leipheimer (Santa Rosa, Calif.) was the only automatic qualifier as a result of a top-three finish in a UCI Grand Tour between July 1, 2007 and July 1, 2008. Leipheimer placed third overall at the 2007 Tour de France when he finished just 31 seconds off the pace of teammate Alberto Contador of Spain and eight seconds back from runner-up Cadel Evans of Australia. An Olympian in 2004, Leipheimer will represent the United States in his second Olympic Games.
Discretionary selections to the men’s road squad include George Hincapie (Greenville, S.C.), Jason McCartney (Coralville, Iowa), Christian Vande Velde (Boulder, Colo.) and David Zabriskie (Salt Lake City, Utah). All discretionary nominations were made by USA Cycling based on an athlete’s capability to medal or otherwise enhance team performance and create a medal capable environment.
Nominated to his fifth Olympic Team, Hincapie becomes the only five-time Olympic cyclist in U.S. history. McCartney and Vande Velde will each compete in their second Olympic Games. McCartney was a member of the 2004 squad on the road, while Vande Velde was a member of the track squad in 2000. Zabriskie will be making his first Olympic appearance.
Hincapie, Leipheimer, McCartney, Vande Velde and Zabriskie will all compete in the mass start road race.
Since no men’s road athletes met the automatic criteria to compete in the individual time trial, Leipheimer and Zabriskie received discretionary nominations to fill the United States’ two start positions in the race against the clock. Two of the United States’ most decorated time trialists in recent history, Leipheimer and Zabriskie have consistently medaled in world-class races over the course of the last several years. Most notably, Leipheimer won stage 19 of the 2007 Tour de France and stage 5 of the 2008 Tour of California. He also finished on the podium in two other UCI ProTour events – the prologue of the 2007 Dauphine Libere and stage 8 of the 2007 Tour of Germany. A silver medalist in the time trial at the 2006 UCI Road World Championships, Zabriskie also won two Grand Tour time trials – stage 1 of the 2005 Tour de France and stage 8 of the 2005 Giro d’ Italia. He has also appeared on the podium in three additional Grand Tour time trials since 2005 and has captured two consecutive USA Cycling Professional Time Trial titles (2006-07). Most recently, Zabriskie finished third in stage 3 of the 2007 Dauphine Libere and second in stage 5 of the 2008 Tirreno-Adriatico.

2008 Olympic Games
Beijing, China
August 8-24
USA Cycling Nominees:
Men’s Road
1.    George Hincapie, 35 (Greenville, S.C.) Road Race
2.    Levi Leipheimer, 34 (Santa Rosa, Calif.) Road Race, Time Trial
3.    Jason McCartney, 34 (Coralville, Iowa) Road Race
4.    Christian Vande Velde, 32 (Boulder, Colo.) Road Race
5.    David Zabriskie, 29 (Salt Lake City, Utah) Road Race, Time Trial
Women’s Road
1.    Kristin Armstrong, 34 (Boise, Idaho) Road Race, Time Trial
2.    T.B.A.
3.    T.B.A.
Men’s Track
1.    Michael Blatchford, 22 (Cypress, Calif.) Team Sprint, Match Sprint
2.    Adam Duvendeck, 26 (Santa Barbara, Calif.) Team Sprint
3.    Michael Friedman, 25 (Pittsburgh, Pa.) Madison
4.    Bobby Lea, 24 (Mertztown, Pa.) Points Race, Madison
5.    Giddeon Massie, 26 (Zionhill, Pa.) Team Sprint
6.    Taylor Phinney, 18 (Boulder, Colo.) Individual Pursuit
*The United States also has one start position in the men’s Keirin. The athlete who will contest the Keirin will be announced at a later date.
Women’s Track
1.    Sarah Hammer, 24 (Temecula, Calif.) Individual Pursuit
2.    Jennie Reed, 30 (Kirkland, Wash.) Match Sprint
*The United States also has one start position in the women's Points Race. The athlete who will contest the Points Race will be announced at a later date.
Men’s Mountain Bike
1.    Adam Craig, 26 (Bend, Ore.)
2.    Todd Wells, 32 (Durango, Colo.)
Women’s Mountain Bike
1.    Georgia Gould, 28 (Ketchum, Idaho)
2.    T.B.A.
Men’s Bicycle Motocross (BMX)
1.    Kyle Bennett, 28 (Conroe, Texas)
2.    Mike Day, 23 (Santa Clarita, Calif.)
3.    Donny Robinson, 25 (Napa, Calif.)
Women’s Bicycle Motocross (BMX)
1.    Jill Kintner, 26 (Seattle, Wash.)

No comments:

Post a Comment